Putting pen to paper


Carol Burnett once said that she felt like a mosquito in a nudist colony. She knew what she had to do, but she didn’t know where to  begin. That’s me lately. I have all of these ideas for artwork toodling around in my brain but I can’t seem to get them out. I used to have this problem with my writing. I’d have the same darn short story living in my head for weeks, months, even more than a year on one of them….and unless the stars were aligned and the inspiration was ripe, it just didn’t come out the way I wanted it to. I’m finding art to be a lot like writing…there are moments of intense productivity, almost like a possession. Some mischievous artsy fartsy poltergeist that swoops inside and forces the art out of me – and I’m happy to be along for the ride. I find I’m rather affected by my surroundings when it comes to artwork and writing. Everything must be “just so” in order for it all to work. What I really need is some cold weather, a fire in the fireplace, a big pot of coffee brewing in the kitchen and an old Nina Simone record. May I order one of those please? And make it snappy.

In the meantime, I’m coming back to some pen and paper drawing as precursor to papercut pieces…Have been thinking a lot about New York lately – our impending trip, the Yankees on television (for those of you who know and love my husband as I do, you can relate) and the fact that for some reason, as my husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary with a getaway weekend recently, I’ve remembered all of those trips he used to make up to New York on the commuter shuttle while we were dating, and how I used to get all hot and bothered thinking of him walking around the greatest city in the world in his suit and tie and briefcase.  I can’t seem to get this one image out of my head of a young girl with a lovely umbrella, literally swept away by the New York City skyline…and so, here she is…pen and paper…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under inspiration

Leave a Reply

