The Debut of Vera


Few things are more thrilling to me than writing a piece of short fiction. There is a “high” associated with the process that is truly exhilarating. Frustrating, yes. But beautifully so. Nine years ago I began writing a short story that has been percolating in my mind and on my computer ever since. A difficult piece for me to write, but one that wouldn’t leave me alone. I thought about it, edited it, read it out loud to myself, probably a thousand times…until I came to the day that I’m sure all writers come to. The day in which I just crossed my fingers, said a little prayer to the literary gods and goddesses and send my little piece out into the big world. And it is with great pleasure and many smiles that I can report that my story, Vera, has been published in the latest issue of “A Clean Well-Lighted Place” – a literary journal that I hold in great esteem not only for the fiction and poetry it showcases, but for the publication’s belief in my story and, by extension, in this troubling tale that has lived in me for so long and is finally out.

For those of you interested in reading the piece, it is available for purchase as a print or digital version. Visit A Clean Well-Lighted Place at www.lightedplace.com/buy.html for more information! And thank you for reading!

 

2 Comments

Filed under inspiration

2 responses to “The Debut of Vera

  1. Katie, How proud was I to click on it and find your name there!!! I’m so impressed you are in such a prestigious journal and you deserve to be. I can’t wait to read your story The head of our Amazon purchases, Harley is buying it as I write.

Leave a Reply

